MPs Questions over Failure to Materialize 14 Seats for Indigenous Papuans


Elvis Tabuni (Doc. Jubi)

The chairman of the council’s Commission I  Commission I on governance, legal and human rights affairs , Elvis Tabuni, said the Perdasus has been passed and is currently waiting for the registration from the government before submitting for legal administration.
“West Papua Province has completed this step. So, why Papua couldn’t do the same while it was formerly a main province,” Elvis Tabuni told Jubi few days ago. He said 14 seats is part of the main agenda of the Papua’s Parliament. It could be an indicator of achievement of the Papua Special Autonomy Law.

According to him, once the Perdasus has been authorized, the Papua’s Parliament would establish a Special Committee who would recruit the members of the Provincial Selection Committee. It’s responsible to make a recruitment of 14 persons who represent the indigenous Papuans in the Papua’s Parliament. Meanwhile, the Selection Committee will consist of the provincial and regional (regency/municipality) selection committees and selection committee of election area.
“Once the Special Committee successfully recruited five members of Provincial Selection Committee, it would make a recommendation to the Provincial Government for approval. The Provincial Committee would recruit and select the members of both Selection Committee of Election Area and Regional Selection Committee,” he said.

Further he said, the election area will refer to the division of the customary areas in Papua, namely La Pago (four seats), Mee Pago (three seats), Sireri (three seats), Mamta (two seats) and Anim Ha (two seats).

Meanwhile the Deputy Chairman of Commission I of the Papua’s Parliament, Orgenes Wanimbo said his commission would coordinate with the Papua People Assembly (MRP) in the recruitment of selection committee. “It is to avoid a misperception. People should know that it is not the Papua’s Parliament who decide or select the candidates, but the Selection Committee,” said Wanimbo.


Meanwhile, nine councilors represent the indigenous Papuans in the West Papua’s Parliament have named refer to the Papua Special Autonomy Law without the process of Legislature Election. They are Maurids Saiba S.ST, Daniel Rumbrawer Frida Tabita Klasin SH, Dominggus Sanni, Yahya Salosa A.Mpd, Alberth Kareth SE, M.Si, Yehezkiel Arempeley SH, Sahaji Rafideso dan Yan Anton Yoteni.

The Chairman of West Papua’s Parliament Josep Yohan Auri has inaugurated the nine councilors since 2014. The inauguration witnessed by the West Papua Governor Abraham Ataruri was referred to the Decree of the Internal Affairs Minister which is enclosed in the Special Autonomy Law for the people of Papua and West Papua provinces.

The candidates was proposed by the Customary Law Council of West Papua Province and selected by a selection team established by the Provincial Government of West Papua after the approval from the Central Government. The selection process was conducted in accordance with the mechanism and procedure of the Papua Special Law that nine candidates were representing all customary clans of West Papua Province.

The assignment of nine councilors represented the indigenous Papuans in the West Papua Province could be realized because of the encouragement and support by the people of West Papua. They gave their trust to the nine councilors to represent the indigenous Papuans at the parliament fighting for their aspiration. (Arjuna Pademme/Dominggus Mampioper/rom)


You might also like